top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFancy Peterson

What's in a Name

I have been quoting a lot of Shakespeare lately. I wish I knew what that was about. lol


At the beginning of the year, I set a goal for myself to make one blog post a week. It is now the 18th week of the year and this will be my second post. I am clearly not doing so well on that note. But hey, at least you know I'm human and far from perfect.


This series of blog posts will be the outpouring of what I am learning and taking away from The Bible Study that I am doing with my husband. Which bible study??? The Bible Study by Zach Windahl (click link here). It is a study through the entire bible and I want to share what God is revealing to me through this journey. I also want to make sure credit is given to Zach so that you know that the research and teaching aspect came from his study, but the experience is my own. I highly encourage you to purchase this study for yourself, because I am a firm believer that God reveals things to each of us differently.


Week One Genesis: (This is where the name part comes in)

In Genesis, the word used for God changes from chapter 1 to chapter 2. The emphasis on the different words that were used, show the important role that a name plays in a person's life. Not only do they give someone an identity, but historically and fictionally there is power in names. Ask any expecting mother right now if they have thought of a baby name and I can almost guarantee you they can tell you what they WONT be naming their baby. Because names trigger feelings, emotions, and memories. If names are this powerful, do you think God unintentionally used specific names throughout scripture? Absolutely not! There is a purpose and a reason behind every word used for God or Lord throughout scripture.


Zach encourages the people doing the bible study to look up their own name. This is where I was like nah I'm good. I don't need to do that. My name is Fancy. There isn't anything meaningful about that. I was named after a 90's country song and that's all there is to it. But I heard God say "I think you know better than that." So here I sat looking up the meaning of my own name like I didn't already know. In Greek, fancy means "to show or to appear" and in English it means "like, love, or inclination." I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I felt the Spirit embrace me and say "and that my child is why you were created. To show Love!"


It has always been my prayer and outlook to love others. If you ask me alll of Christianity can be summed up into two sentences: Love God. Love Others. It really has always been that simple for me. Love is such a powerful force and I believe in that power. When people ask me what do I think of _______? My response is always to love first. Yesterday someone posted a question: what is one piece of advice about friendships you would like to give? My answer "love first." No matter what it is we are faced with, we have to do it from a place of love. I read something yesterday that said "you will never look into the eyes of a person who God doesn't love." If we use that mentality with everyone we cross paths with, then how can God not use you to bring those people closer to Him. I found it ironic that i used to tell people that my goal in life was to just love people to Jesus and my name literally means to show love!


I am grateful that this study encouraged me to discover what my name means and even more amazed that I have been living up to my name unknowingly. I encourage you to do it too!


John 13:34 (CSB) "I give you a new command: Love one another. Just as I have loved you, you are also to love one another."


PS: Buy this bible study :) here it is again (HERE)



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page